Make a Children’s Nightgown or Dress from Your Old T-Shirt – A simple tutorial in 4 easy steps

My oldest daughter had no PJ’s for the hot weather.  “Everything is too hot!” she said.  No, it can’t be. . . she was right.  Everything was flannel and fleece.  But I have already blown my budget for the month.  Between summer supplies, summer clothes, field trips and so on, I am maxed out.

To my drawers I went and I pulled out 3 shirts that I almost never wear.  They are too short and my tummy peeks out when I reach my hands up over my head.  No one wants to see that!

So here is how I turned some old long sleeved v-neck t-shirts into cute little nightgowns for my daughter in 4 super easy steps.

The shirts are a woman’s medium and I would say that a 5T to 6X could easily wear them.

Step 1 – Cut off the sleeves and neck, tight at the seam.  My t-shirts were v-necks with an existing generous opening.  If you are using a smaller crew neck, you may want to make the opening a little larger.

Step 2 – Shape the “Dress”.  Taper both sides a bit, cut off an oblong triangle from each side.  Sorry, my picture only shows one side, but do cut both sides please!

Step 3 – Sew the sides back up.  I used my serger, but you can use a regular straight stitch.  Because the shirts are knit, the edges will not fray like quilting cotton.

Step 4– Add elastic to the neck line.  I used a skinny 1/8″ elastic and blind stitched it.  To do this you straight stitch the end of your elastic for about a 1/4″ to the shoulder seam.

Then switch to a long wide zig-zag stitch.  I changed mine to 5mm and 2.5mm.  Pull the elastic tight, BUT NOT THE FABRIC.  Zig-zag over the elastic.   At the end straight, stitch again to attach.

When you are done you get a great stretchy gather, perfect for necklines!

Done!  I made 3 in 30 minutes!

I left the edges rough because it is just a nightgown and the baby had enough of her jumperoo.  My time was up!

But if you turned the edges over and hemmed them, you could have a super cute dress.  It would only take a few extra minutes to hem and it would be fun to do with some of our old graphic t’s.  HMM – I may need to try that!

I submitted this to Skip To My Lou for a “Made By You” Feature.  Hop on over there to see all the other great ideas and posts Cindy has to offer.

This entry was posted in FREE Sewing Patterns and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Make a Children’s Nightgown or Dress from Your Old T-Shirt – A simple tutorial in 4 easy steps

  1. tomkatkeen says:

    These look cute, comfy, and easy to make!! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

